Bettina Hubby in HDTS Painted Rock Auction 1.25.20

High Desert Test Sites is a nonprofit arts organization based in Joshua Tree cofounded and directed by Andrea Zittel. HDTS is dedicated to artworks that are deeply immersed in site. Often challenging art to take on new areas of relevancy, we believe in an intimate exchange with our high desert community.

HDTS programming includes performance, site-specific installation, workshops, screenings, publications, residencies, ongoing community based programs, and is perhaps best known for biennial roving events featuring artworks installed in diverse locations, with many miles in between.

This year at Frieze LA, High Desert Test Sites is presenting its Artist Painted Rock Auction—a silent auction of artist-painted rocks, inspired by Scott and Tyson Reeder’s project, General Store Rocks (originally featured in Amy and Wendy Yao’s Art Swap Meet at HDTS 2004). Bid on original “painted rocks” by some of our favorite artists and collaborators to support HDTS. All proceeds from this auction goes towards HDTS operating expenses and programming including HDTS 2020, opening the weekend of April 18th in Joshua Tree.

Images and descriptions of each unique rock will be posted on an online auction platform and our Instagram page a few weeks in advance. The auction will begin on Thursday, February 13th at 11:00 am PST and close at 6:00 pm on Sunday, February 16th.

Instagram @highdeserttestsites

Participating artists include:

Adam Silverman
Adrienne Adar
Alice Konitz
Allan McCollum
Amy Yao
Anna Sew Hoy
Ashley Carter
Betil Dagdelen
Bettina Hubby
Bob Dornberger
Bobby Jesus
Catherine Czacki
Carolyn Pennypacker-Riggs
Christy Gast
Connie Walsh
Cori Williams
Corrina Peipon
David Benjamin Sherry
Dianna Molzan
Edie Fake
Emilie Halpern
Eve Fowler
Gabie Strong
Gerald Clark
Halsey Clark Rodman
Ida Badal
Jedediah Caesar
Jennifer Morris
Jesse Greenberg
Jim Drain
Jim Kanter
Joel Kyack
Jonah King
Julie Tolentino
Karen Lofgren
Kate Lee Short
Katie Grinnan
Landon Wiggs
Lily Stockman
Linda Carmella Sibio
Lisa Anne Auerbach
Lydia Glenn-Murray
Matt Keegan
Marisa Mandler
Neil Doshi
Nora Rolf

​Pam Lins
Piero Golia
Ry Rocklen
Sarah Rara
Samantha Bittman
Shari Elf
Tanya Brodsky
Tara Jane O’Neil
Tatiana Vahan
Tayler Straziuso
Tyler Matthew Oyer
Virginia Overton
Whiz World

Click here for more information.